UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

AR# 33326

11.3 PlanAhead/Project Navigator - Why are all UCFs in an ISE design tools project updated when I modify one in the PlanAhead tool?

Description

When editing constraints using the PlanAhead tool for a Project Navigator project which has multiple UCF files, I am prompted to select the UCF file that I want my constraints written to. I make changes to my constraints in the PlanAhead tool, then Save and Exit. If I compare the timestamps of my UCF files, I see that both were rewritten. Why is this? Is this expected behavior?

Solution

Yes, this is the expected behavior. The PlanAhead tool's constraints database keeps track of all constraints, not specifically which constraints are modified. When the project is saved, all constraints are rewritten to all UCF files in the Project Navigator project.

AR# 33326
Date Created 08/25/2009
Last Updated 05/23/2014
Status Archive
Type General Article