AR# 3048: Foundation F1.x, Design Manager, XABEL: DM doesn't read PLD (Plusasm) or EDN file if flow is changed
Foundation F1.x, Design Manager, XABEL: DM doesn't read PLD (Plusasm) or EDN file if flow is changed
Keywords: ABEL, Plusasm, PLD, 9500
It both the Plusasm and Edif flows are used to compile an ABEL file within the same project, it may be necessary to regenerate the Design Manager project in order for it to read the appropriate input file.
By default, XABEL designs within Foundation will be synthesized to EDIF (.EDN) files. It is possible, however, to enable the Plusasm flow, such that XABEL designs will be synthesized to Plusasm (.PLD) files. See (Xilinx Solution 2776) for more information about enabling this flow.
When the Xilinx Design Manager is invoked from the Foundation Project Manager, a Design Manager project is created with an input file "hard-coded" into the project file.
Therefore, if you enable the Plusasm flow AFTER the Design Manager has already been invoked once, the Design Manager will continue to read the EDN file, and not the newly created PLD file.
(This problem also exists in the reverse situation, where the Plusasm flow was enabled first, and then it was later disabled to produce default EDN instead. In this case the Design Manager would "remember" the PLD file instead of now reading the EDN file.)
In order to resolve this problem, the Design Manager project, at least, must be recreated. There are 2 methods to do this:
Alternative #1 ============== Create a new Foundation project. Ensure that the desired flow (Plusasm or default EDIF) is chosen before invoking the Design Manager in this new project.
Alternative #2 ============== Delete the current Design Manager project by selecting File->Delete Project from Design Manager. Then, close the Design Manager, and re-invoke it from the Foundation Project Manager. It should now create the DM project with the appropriate input file (PLD or EDN). **Please note that this alternative will DELETE the entire XPROJ directory for this project. You will lose all of the Version and Revision Implementation files. You will not lose any of the design source, however. If you wish to retain all of the Version and Revision data files for this project, then you must use Alternative #1.