UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

AR# 45186

13.3 Project Navigator - WARNING: enable to clean up previous run data file

Description

When trying to Synthesize my project, I receive the below warning messages that indicate that the xst.old, prj.old and syr.old files cannot be overwritten.

The newer files are never Synthesized.

WARNING: enable to clean up previous run data file: userinterface.xst: error renaming "userinterface.xst" to "userinterface.xst.old": file already exists

WARNING: enable to clean up previous run data file: userinterface.prj: error renaming "userinterface.prj" to "userinterface.prj.old": file already exists

WARNING: enable to clean up previous run data file: userinterface.syr: error renaming "userinterface.syr" to "userinterface.syr.old": file already exists

Solution

There are two issues involved here which have been resolved in ISE 13.4.

  • Typo in the Warning message: The message should state "unable" instead of "enable".

  • Project Navigator was updated to force the overwrite of these files during the XST process. 

To work around the issue in ISE 13.3 and earlier do the following:

1) Ensure that ISE is not running.

2) Open the following file in a text editor: 

(Xilinx Install)/ISE_DS/ISE/data/projnav/scripts/dpm_xstTasks.tcl

3) Change line 398 to the following (adding a -force option):

if {[ catch { file rename -force $normPath $normPath.old } myerror ]}{

4) Save the file, and run your project through XST again.

AR# 45186
Date Created 11/29/2011
Last Updated 03/02/2015
Status Active
Type General Article
Tools
  • ISE Design Suite - 13.2
  • ISE Design Suite - 13.3